Pakistan-Afghanistan Parliamentarians' Dialogue-X

October 01-02, 2013; Islamabad, Pakistan

Joint Statement

- 1. The 10th Round of Pakistan-Afghanistan Parliamentarians' Dialogue was held on October 01-02, 2013 in Islamabad, Pakistan. Facilitated by PILDAT, the Dialogue was hosted by Pakistan-Afghanistan Parliamentary Friendship Group in the National Assembly of Pakistan under the leadership of **Honourable Mr. Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao**, MNA (NA-8, Charsadda, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, QWP) and Convener of the Group and **Honourable Mr. Mirwais Yasini**, First Deputy Speaker of the Wolesi Jirga, Parliament of Afghanistan.
- 2. After evaluating the progress made in the past nine (9) rounds of the Dialogue, both sides expressed satisfaction over the emergence of positive political atmosphere in the relationship between the two countries. However, Parliamentarians of Pakistan and Afghanistan reiterated that both countries have many issues that need to be resolved in cooperation with each other.
- 3. Parliamentarians of Pakistan and Afghanistan reiterated their support and approval for the Joint Statement of the 9th round of Pakistan-Afghanistan MPs Dialogue which was held at Islamabad on September 24, 25, 2013.
- 4. Parliamentarians engaged in a candid exchange of views on issues affecting Pakistan-Afghanistan relations. They stressed that the soil of Pakistan and Afghanistan should not be allowed to be used against each other's country for terrorist activities. Parliamentarians also called for an end to blame game between the two countries.
- 5. MPs stressed that Parliaments must fulfil their responsibilities of improving bilateral ties through oversight of foreign and security policies. Respective Parliamentary committees need to play their role in this regard.
- 6. MPs showed concern at increasing terrorist activities in the two countries and urged the two Governments to go beyond condemnation and take effective measures to contain terrorism and extremism.
- 7. Parliamentarians highlighted the small window of opportunity in terms of time that existed for both Pakistan and Afghanistan to realistically address the issues that may emerge from the proposed 2014 withdrawal of ISAF from Afghanistan. MPs stressed that lack of appropriate decisions by Governments in Pakistan and Afghanistan at this stage may result in a more catastrophic scenario post 2014.
- 8. MPs urged both the Governments to play a positive role to contain terrorism and assist in reconciliation. In order to achieve desirable scenario in post-2014, both Governments should work together towards the goal of peace and stability in the region.
- 9. Parliamentarians of the two countries agreed that relevant Friendship Groups in the Parliaments of Pakistan and Afghanistan should be facilitated to lead the Dialogue process to employ Parliamentary diplomacy for improving bilateral relations in accordance with the socio-political and cultural norms of the two countries. A structured follow-up on recommendations made at the Dialogues should be continued by the Friendship Groups to ensure MPs' recommendations influence policies of the two Governments.

- 10. Parliamentarians from Afghanistan and Pakistan thanked PILDAT for facilitating the 10th Round of the Dialogue. They hoped that PILDAT will continue to support process of the Dialogue as it was vital for removing irritants in the relationship of the two countries and promoting peace between them.
- 11. The Afghan delegation, under the leadership of Honourable Mr. Mirwais Yasini, First Deputy Speaker of the Wolesi Jirga, included following Members of the Wolesi Jirga: Honourable Mr. Abdul Latif Pedram, member of the Wolesi Jirga Commission on Oversight of the Implementation of the Law and Central Audit, Honourable Mr. Alam Qarar, member of Wolesi Jirga Commission on Internal Affairs, Honourable Mr. Allah Gul Mojahed, member of the Complaints and Petitions Commission of the Wolesi Jirga, Honourable Mr. Mahmood Khan Sulaimankhail and Honourable Haji Sakhi Meshwani.
- 12. The Pakistan delegation, under the leadership of Honourable Mr. Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao, MNA (NA-8, Charsadda, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, QWP) and Convener of Pakistan-Afghanistan Parliamentary Friendship Group in the National Assembly of Pakistan, included Honourable Mr. Faisal Karim Kundi, Former Deputy Speaker, National Assembly of Pakistan included 32 MPs such as Honourable Mr. Ghulam Ahmed Bilour, MNA (NA-1, Peshawar 1, KP, ANP), Honourable Mr. Ali Muhammad Khan, MNA (NA-10, Mardan II, KP, PTI), Honourable Mr. Shehrayar Afridi, MNA (NA-14, Kohat, KP, PTI), Honourable Dr. Muhammad Azhar Khan Jadoon, MNA (NA-17, Abbottabad-I, KP, PTI), Honourable Dr. Raja Aamer Zaman, MNA (NA-19, Haripur, KP, PTI), Honourable Mr. Akram Khan Durrani, (NA-26, Bannu, KP, JUI-F), Honourable Mr. Sher Akbar Khan, MNA (NA-28, Bunair, KP, JI), Honourable Mr. Iftikharuddin, MNA (NA-32, Chitral, KP, APML), Honourable Sahibzada Tariqullah, MNA (NA-33, Upper Dir, KP, JI), Honourable Syed Ghazi Gulab Jamal, MNA (NA-39, Tribal Area, IV, FATA, IND), Honourable Mr. Bismillah Khan, MNA (NA-43, Tribal Area VIII, FATA, IND), Honourable Mr. Shah Jee Gul Afridi, MNA (NA-45, Tribal Area-X, FATA, IND), Honourable Dr. Zulfiqar Ali Bhatti, MNA (NA-67, Sargodha-IV, Punjab, PML-N), Honourable Mr. Mehboob Alam, MNA (NA-242, Karachi IV, Sindh, MQM), Honourable Mr. Muhammad Muzammil Oureshi, MNA (NA-253, Karachi-XV, Sindh, MQM), Honourable Mr. Asif Husnain, MNA (NA-255, Karachi-XVII, Sindh, MQM), Honourable Ms. Aasiya Nasir, MNA (NA-259, Balcohistan-IX, JUI-F) Honourable Maulana Ameer Zaman, MNA (NA-263, Loralai, Balochistan, JUI-F), Honourable Mrs. Tahira Aurangzeb, MNA (NA-275, Punjab-III, PML-N), Honourable Ms. Asiya Naz Tanoli, MNA (NA-282, Punjab-X, PML-N), Honourable Ms. Romina Khurshid Alam, MNA (NA-295, Punjab-XXIII, PML-N), Honourable Sveda Zahra Wadood Fatemi, MNA (NA-298, Punjab-XXVI, PMLN). Honourable Ms. Nafeesa Inayatullah Khan Khattak, MNA (NA-322, KP-I, PTI), Honourable Ms. Sajida Begum, MNA (NA-324, KP-IV, PTI), Honourable Mrs. Shahida Akhtar Ali, MNA (NA-326, KP-V, JUI-F) Honourable Ms. Naeema Kishwar Khan, MNA (NA-327, KP VII, JUI-F), Honourable Ms. Aisha Saeed, MNA (NA-329, KP-VIII JI), Honourable Ms. Aliya Kamran, MNA (NA-332, Balochistan-III, JUI-F), Honourable Dr. Ramesh Kumar Vankwani, MNA (NA-334, Karachi, Sindh, PML-N), Honourable Senator Surriva Amiruddin (PPPP, Balochistan) and Honourable Senator Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana, (Punjab, PML-N).